#6 FLY ON MY WALL

#6 Fly On My Wall

The concept behind this title is being a fly on the wall.  By observing my blog you sort of are a fly on my wall. For this entry, you can gain a look  inside my inner world -literally. Here is my living room! Once and a while I will document my surroundings through contour drawings.

For this piece I chose the approach of a blind contour drawing. “Blind” meaning you do not look at the paper. You take a pen, you look at the object, you guesstimate shapes, relationships, positive & negative spaces while solely looking at the subject matter. You  are documenting  what your eyes and brain are perceiving.  It is great practice for an artists eye-hand coordination.  It’s a lot of fun.  Sometimes you are off by two inches or objects overlap. In the portrait of the woman, I completely ran out of room for her upper torso.  The light switch is on the plant because, when not looking, you can be off a bit.  I think the effect is freeing though.  The over lapping, the wonky lines, the bent drape rod, yes they are not realistic, but you do gain insight into the character of my room.  I love color and I love adding lots of different patterns to my interiors.  This is why I decided to use a second finer pen to add the details of the art and fabrics.  My room would not be my room if I had simply only left the larger pen strokes as the final marks.

Both pens were archival ink. The thick lines for the gestural drawing and the thin lines for the detail. Next I added water color because again, for a room to be my room it has to have bright and bold color!

For added fun, I added a fly to the drawing. So in future posts. If you see the title “FLY ON MY WALL” look and see if you can find where I added a fly – because quite simply, that’s you!

http://www.becreativemary.com

Like me on FaceBook: Be Creative Mary

3 thoughts on “#6 FLY ON MY WALL

  1. Love this Mary…you inspired me to give this a try and let me just say I’m pretty sure Liam could have created a better picture! Can’t wait to see what you do next.

    • LOL! I guess I should have mentioned it takes a little practice! Take three items ie. soup can, baby bottle, purse. Just try drawing one item at a time. You are an athlete, you know you aren’t awesome on day one…..but on day 365 now that’s another story! Thanks so much for viewing my blog! Squeeze cutey Liam for me while your at it!

  2. Pingback: #61 – FLY ON MY WALL O’DOGS ROOM | becreativemary

Leave a Reply

