#127 – RING AROUND THE UMBRELLA

 

#127 - RING AROUND THE UMBRELLA 3

This is all that is left from my mother’s St. Patrick’s Day birthday present I was going to give her for mother’s Day (note the lapse in time).  It was to be a long rectangular planter. But now, it can be broken into shards to fill the bottoms of other planters.  Poor clay carcass. During it’s autopsy my instructor discovered glaze had been left all along the bottom of the planter.  This stuck to the kiln and while the planter was shrinking from water evaporation, it broke into about 6 pieces.

Woops.  Let that be a lesson to us all. YOU HAVE TO REMOVE THE EXTRA GLAZE FROM THE BOTTOM OF YOUR POTTERY.

Yep, like most things, I generally learn the hard way :)

So I delivered the bad news to my mother.  I’m sure she’s wearing black today.  It may take a while to get through the grieving process…

But even though she’s in mourning, she did come up with another idea :)

My mom has requested flower vases which she’d like connected in a ring, to wrap around her umbrella pole for her patio table.

She wants the ring to be in two pieces though, so that it can be easily removed to water or create her floral bouquets.

#127 - RING AROUND THE UMBRELLA b #127 - RING AROUND THE UMBRELLA

I once had a glass ring of bud vases designed for this very purpose. But, it drove me crazy, so I never used it.  What I didn’t like was that it was one solid ring which meant I had to unbolt my umbrella to get the vase ring off and on the table. Also, the budvases were about 2 inches high.  This left a very small area for water and the buds would just tip right out of the thing because they were too top-heavy.

My mom’s vases are about mug-size.  I slab rolled them and then used stamps, texture sheets and crocheted pieces to decorate the vases.   Each vase is different.  They should shrink a little bit and then when I glaze them, they should be weather proof.

Now, the only trick is trying to keep this project from self-destructing.

Ya know I love ya mom right?

With any luck I will have this ready for you by Christmas!

Maybe  ;)

www.becreativemary.com

Like me on Facebook:  Be Creative Mary

 

2 thoughts on “#127 – RING AROUND THE UMBRELLA

  1. Pingback: More Awards – Thank you | mamacormier

  2. Pingback: #134 – GLAZING DAY | becreativemary

Leave a Reply

