#182 – EXACTLY ONE HALF YEAR!

IMG_0816

WOO HOO!!! Today I hit the half-way mark!!!

I thought there’d be some special ceremony or that my art would reflect the significance of following through on my creative challenge for exactly one half-year, but no.  I had laundry to wash, dry and fold from vacation.  Library books to return and meals to make.  No fireworks, no champagne and no magical piece of art.

Instead, today, I hunkered down and started sketching another three buildings from Block Island’s Old harbor.  Here is a photo of the whole harbor:

2013-06-23 12.47.57

Here is the first three buildings on 16″x16″ 140lb. cold press paper. It’s a watercolor and pen drawing.

2013-06-23 12.49.58b 2013-06-27 12.34.54

Now I am attempting the next three buildings on 16″x20″ 140lb. cold press paper.

2013-06-23 12.50.00 IMG_0816

Next I will trace it in pen and watercolor the image.  Hopefully, if it works out, they will all tie into each other.  I’d imagine if you’ve never been there, this is a big “so what”, but for us Block-Heads.  It will be a wonderful way to reminisce.

The sketch took way longer than I would have expected.  Hours actually.  I guess it’s because I had to keep referring back, even researching on-line to find small details that seemed relevant. What does that sign say? Should I draw this or omit it?  What does Del’s lemonade’s cart actually look like?

I am also debating erasing people.  They are not my favorite.  If they turn out cheesy they could ruin the whole painting…Fellow artists, any feedback advice on that one?  I can still erase them!

So tomorrow I ‘ll keep plugging away.  I think I’ll add some personal touches like I did in the first painting.  Things that remind me of our vacations.

OK.  Time to feed the kids dinner.

The romanticism of being an “artist”  is definitely lost on me.

One hundred and eighty-two days.

I’m proud of myself.  I have felt like ditching many an occasion, but I’ve kept with it and it really feels good.

I can’t imagine what will manifest in the second half of this year.  I look forward to the challenge.

Thanks for joining me for the ride!

http://www.becreativemary.com

Join me on Facebook:  Be Creative Mary

One thought on “#182 – EXACTLY ONE HALF YEAR!

  1. Congratulations on reaching the half way mark. I would personally leave the people out unless you’re going to do stylistic people where the detail is minimal but it may not work with the buildings.

Leave a Reply

