DAY #205 – SAIL AWAY ON THE BLOCK ISLAND FERRY

#205- SAIL AWAY ON THE BLOCK ISLAND FERRY (1)

Today I decided to return to the Block Island Old Harbor series I am creating.

#178 - View From Old Harbor Block Island

So far I’ve done the Old harbor Inn

#188- BLOCK ISLAND STAR DEPARTMENT STORE (1)

and The Star Department Store…

Next, the Block Island Ferry.

After that, I will do the National Hotel and The Surf Hotel.  The whole harbor is a gem of Victorian buildings from the turn of the century.  It’s also where I vacation every year with my best friends which makes it quite sentimental.

Today was sketch day.

You start with nothing and hopefully an image begins to emerge.  My first sketch wound up flowing off the sides of my paper in two directions.  I taped some paper together and kept going.  I then had a preliminary drawing but it was on three pieces of paper!   I took a piece of over-sized tracing paper and traced my ferry-boat onto it.

#205- SAIL AWAY ON THE BLOCK ISLAND FERRY (2)

But now my ferry-boat was heading in the wrong direction. I flipped the piece of paper over again and traced it one last time.

I now had a tracing of my ferry-boat on both sides of my tracing paper.

#205- SAIL AWAY ON THE BLOCK ISLAND FERRY (3)

Next came the scribbling.

If you rub your pencil over your existing pencil lines, you can transfer a graphite image to a new piece of paper.

#205- SAIL AWAY ON THE BLOCK ISLAND FERRY (4)

Now I have a pencil drawing of my ferry-boat, in the correct direction and eraser free.

tomorrow I can finish adding more details in pencil before I transition over to pen.

This way takes quite a few steps, but you are able to edit and make corrections on scrap paper before moving to good paper.  I thought I was going to be using a 16 x 16″ piece of cold press watercolor paper, but it wound up, I needed a 16 x 20″ piece.  You may not have much to show for day one, but there is quite a bit of math, proportion, and calculation that goes into a drawing.

OK.  Off to bed.

It’s nice to know what I’ll be working on tomorrow. Takes a little stress off!

http://www.becreativemary.com

Join me on Facebook:  Be Creative Mary

Leave a Reply

