DAY #216 – SANDCASTLES AND FAIRY HOUSES

#216 - SANDCASTLES AND FAIRY HOUSES (2)

I had a house full of family this weekend.

Just like little Cindy-Lou-Who, my niece came up to me with the sweetest little voice and said “Umm, Auntie Mary do you think you could help me make a fairy house and that could count as your creativity for the day?”  batting her eye-lashes and all…

OF COURSE I CAN!!!

I figured since I was going that route, I might as well throw in a sandcastle or two!

So off we went.

#216 - SANDCASTLES AND FAIRY HOUSES (10) #216 - SANDCASTLES AND FAIRY HOUSES (11) #216 - SANDCASTLES AND FAIRY HOUSES (9) #216 - SANDCASTLES AND FAIRY HOUSES (12) #216 - SANDCASTLES AND FAIRY HOUSES (13)

We dug in and got sandy.  I am telling you, this is the biggest sand castle I’ve ever made.  I’m pretty sure Beyoncé and Jay-Z might even want to summer here!  We had swimming pools, moats, bridges, mansions and even a pyramid or two by the time we were finished!  Everybody came up with their own idea and then added it.  I have to say, it kept us all busy for hours. Right there, that was worth it, but then you also get the beach bragging rights.  People come up and envy your masterpiece and you get to take a bow.  My son spent the rest of the afternoon guarding the palace from wandering babies who just couldn’t help but want to stop by and take a dip.

Funny stuff.

Soon after, we all jumped into the sea to cool off and de-sand ourselves.

Here is another fun thing the kids and I came up with.

#216 - SANDCASTLES AND FAIRY HOUSES (16)

#216 - SANDCASTLES AND FAIRY HOUSES (15)

We call it the “hot stone massage”.  The beach that we go to is filled with tons of rocks and pebbles.  In fact, they get so hot you can barely walk on them.  Every time my son came out of the water he’d bury himself in rocks.  That’s when we decided to join him.  These photos look absolutely silly, and let’s face it, THEY ARE!  But I tell you, the next time you’re at a rocky beach, try it!!!  Best free spa-day ever!

On to Fairy houses…

#216 - SANDCASTLES AND FAIRY HOUSES (1) #216 - SANDCASTLES AND FAIRY HOUSES (2) #216 - SANDCASTLES AND FAIRY HOUSES (3) #216 - SANDCASTLES AND FAIRY HOUSES (4)

We were in the perfect location for building fairy houses.  We were practically in the woods!

The kids used moss, leaves, bark, acorns, pine needles, twigs, rocks and hydrangea.

#216 - SANDCASTLES AND FAIRY HOUSES (7)

They even found a giant beetle,

#216 - SANDCASTLES AND FAIRY HOUSES (8) #216 - SANDCASTLES AND FAIRY HOUSES (6)

which they created a home for using an old tree stump.

I tell you, leave it to kids to teach real creativity.

Just like the olden days when my mom would tell me to get outside and go use my imagination.

These kids did.

I am very lucky they invited me on their journey!

#216 - SANDCASTLES AND FAIRY HOUSES (5)

http://www.becreativemary.com

Join me on Facebook:  Be Creative Mary

3 thoughts on “DAY #216 – SANDCASTLES AND FAIRY HOUSES

  1. Reblogged this on Minding My P's With Q and commented:
    After writing about fairy houses I found this terrific post on Fairy Houses from becreativemary. Take a look at this post and some of her recent watercolors of Block Island.

  2. Pingback: DAY #287- Zentangle of OZ | becreativemary

Leave a Reply

