DAY #227 – ECHINACEA – The Purple Coneflower

IMG_3561

Another late night.

I can’t wait for school to begin! The kids aren’t the only ones that need a steady routine!

Today we rushed about, looking for the ultimate backpack, lunch box and water bottle.  We have all been there, there is nothing more exciting than new stuff!

They are ready, I am ready, now we just have to figure out how to fill another thousand hours…

IMG_3493 IMG_3513 IMG_3539 IMG_3561

OK. Onto art.  This is painting # 4 in my windowsill series.  I am painting the bud vases I made in pottery class with some of my garden favorites.  Today was the pinky Echinacea.  This flower started blooming over 40 days ago, and it’s still going strong.  I love that in a garden flower.  Most plants are dried up and deteriorating by this point.

Oh, and excuse the photos.  This series has been taken at night in my bathroom, the brightest room I can find, yet as I look at this photo now, I realize how dark and drab the photos are.  Believe it or not, these paintings are way brighter! But of course they are, that’s my passion!

IMG_3541

These 9×12 watercolors are getting me through a full-time kids-home week.  A couple of hours in the morning, an hour or two before dinner, finishing up somewhere between 9pm-midnight….  This challenge is taking its toll on me, my husband, my kids… Yet no one complains.  They are all picking up my slack and pushing me on ahead.  I’m really lucky, because if I’m feeling exhausted and at my wit’s end, they may be feeling it worse!

I am very blessed to have such a loving, supportive family.

If I don’t say it enough, Thank you! Thank you!  Thank you!  Thank you!

http://www.becreativemary.com

Join me on Facebook:  Be Creative Mary

Leave a Reply

