DAY #285 – NEVER TAKE WHERE I LIVE FOR GRANTED

#286- NEVER TAKE WHERE I LIVE FOR GRANTED (1)c

Yesterday I was running around my town like a crazy person!

I had to meet some one at the Block Island ferry and then join my family for a town-wide scavenger hunt.  Better to call it a wild goose chase!

Scavenger hunts force you to rush.  There were probably 100 things to do or find in a two-hour time frame.  For example, here were some items:  Wiffle ball, red lipstick, mustard packet, mussel shell, take out menu, candy necklace, bird feather, Silly-Puddy, Narragansett beer coaster, Splenda packet and an empty ketchup bottle.

What does this have to do with today’s painting?

Well, in running around trying to find these crazy objects, I popped into the beach.

#286- NEVER TAKE WHERE I LIVE FOR GRANTED (2)

We needed a bunch of sea shells and a bird feather. What better place to find them right?

I smelled the salt air and it stopped me dead in my tracks.  It occurred to me , right at that moment, I hadn’t been to the beach since Labor Day.  Yeah so what, most people haven’t been to the beach since Labor Day… But I live 2.5 miles from the Atlantic Ocean. How could the sea have fallen off my radar for well over a month?

SHAME ON ME!

#286- NEVER TAKE WHERE I LIVE FOR GRANTED (1)

Like a scurrying little ant, I’ve been running around, getting back into school, soccer and volunteer work and it’s taken me away from my simple ritual of observance.

I don’t know if you’ve ever had that moment where you realize you haven’t looked up at the stars in the night sky for over a month?  It happens to me from time to time.  It makes me realize, I’ve become over-focused on the minutiae of everyday life and I’m no longer taking in the big picture nor my connection to the universe.

It’s like the realization of the smallness of humans.

The sky is immense. The sea is a natural wonder.  Both of these parts of my world are there to teach me, to nurture me, to keep me balanced.

I took a little time today to appreciate my surroundings and to re-adjust my priorities.

I don’t ever want to take where I live for granted.

I constantly feel blessed.

http://www.becreativemary.com

Join me on Facebook:  Be Creative Mary

Leave a Reply

