DAY # 351- A CUP OF AWESOME!

#351- CUP OF AWESOME (6)

#351- CUP OF AWESOME (1)

I was holding my breath the entire way into pottery class.  Would I be disappointed? Frustrated? Discouraged? or would the mugs I spent hours on have turned out OK?

drum roll…..

…I… I… I love them!!!

#344- Do-Over (1) IMG_8181

The long-winded story was that my first set of mugs were too dark and brown for my personal taste.  So I painstakingly designed new mugs and fretted over brighter& lighter glaze choices.

#351- CUP OF AWESOME (7) #351- CUP OF AWESOME (5)

I’m thrilled with the results. I totally think it was worth it! The mugs are a lot more stream-lined and lightweight. That’s what happens when you try again, you learn from your past experience and everything improves.

#351- CUP OF AWESOME (3)

Now, Do you like my hats?

Actually, I took this picture to try to explain my process.  I am making bowls very similar to my mugs.  I begin with the bottom of the bowl being thrown on the pottery wheel and the top of the bowl being hand-built with flat slabs of clay.

#351- CUP OF AWESOME (2) #351- CUP OF AWESOME (4)

I gave these wide lips for holding on to.  It’s my favorite shape for soup bowls.  I plan on making three more bowls next session for a set of six bowls and I want each bowl to be different and unique.

I finally feel like I’m getting somewhere!

Well, now that I think of it, it has been a full year since I started pottery classes.  I started a couple of weeks before this creativity challenge.  I have come a long way in a year.  If you asked me if I thought I’d be where I am now at a year I would have told you no way!  Pottery is too hard! When I started, I couldn’t even center the clay on the wheel for the first few months. I also couldn’t choose what I wanted to make, I had to settle for creating whatever was left on the wheel after I mangled multiple lumps of clay.  A full year later I can center clay, I can hand-build, I can come to class with an idea and accomplish it and now hopefully I can have a little success with glazes as well (we’ll see, it could have just been a fluke!).

I look forward to looking back after this challenge at all of my old pottery posts and observing my progress.  I’ve never been one to journal so this year will be a great gift to myself.  A little time capsule of all my thoughts and angst!

I’m glad I found pottery as an outlet for creativity. I can’t tell you how many years I had excuses for never even trying.

OK. Off to cook dinner. Thank you all for joining me on my journey!

http://www.becreativemary.com

Like me on Facebook:  Be Creative Mary

6 thoughts on “DAY # 351- A CUP OF AWESOME!

  1. Glazing is the hardest part of pottery for me. I am learning how to make my own glazes and it can be complicated to get it all right, the right percentages of chemicals, the right composition for the right type of glaze etc. I really need to work on my hand building, I neglect it way too often because the wheel work is so fast for me. I haven’t found such fantastic object for stamping that you have. I need to hit some flea markets and such to find some that are as great as those you have.

    • Originally I found these stamps at Brimfield’s flea market, but I just bought some for the same price off of Ebay. Try searching for Indian or Pakastani Textile stamps. They are gorgeous and hand carved which I like in my work!

  2. Awesome Mary! You go girl!!! I was just in a store where they had a life size cat made of clay….. Love Mom PS. Just arrived home in my new car that totally handled the big snow storm. Wow. What a difference!

Leave a Reply

